Amazing Learn Mitosis Phases – A Detailed Review

Mitosis is the scientific process, wherein, the nucleus of the cell breaks up into two equally alike sets of chromosomes. In other words, mitosis is the process where cell division takes place for the formation of new cells.

Mitosis is divided into six different phases. They are:

1. Interphase:

This is the shortest mitotic phase involving the cell cycle. This is the phase where, the DNA has been mirrored, however, has not been shaped or reduced into the composition of chromosome. The cells continue to remain as freely twisted chromatin, wherein, the nuclear membrane remains integral and unharmed in order to shield the DNA molecules from experiencing transformation. This phase is sub-divided into three categories called:

Know About Mitosis

  • First Gap (G1)
  • Synthesis (S)
  • Second Gap (G2)

During the above phases, the cell develops by generating cytoplasmic organelles and proteins.

2. Preprophase:

Prephrophase stage precedes prophase only in plant cell configuration. In extremely vacuolative plant cells (the sections that are filled with water enclosing organic and inorganic molecules along with enzymes); the nucleus drifts towards the core of the cell much ahead before mitosis can start. The preprophase group fades away during the nuclear-wrapping- disassembly.



At this phase, the nuclear membrane splits up, while the microtubules tend to occupy the nuclear gap. This process is known as “open mitosis”, and it takes place with almost all multi-cellular organisms. A few protists (trichomonads or algae) and fungi, go through a discrepancy here called as “closed mitosis” wherein, the spindle shapes up within its microtubules or the nucleus, they are competent to break through an integral nuclear membrane that remains unharmed.


4. Metaphase:

The fourth phase of mitosis is metaphase. In this stage, the chromosomes of the unscrambling cell commence to gather and are synchronized with the spindle equipment. The almost immediately to be separated chromosomes are symmetrically arranged on the metaphase plate characteristically at the prime meridian of the parent cell.


5. Anaphase:

Anaphase is the fifth step of mitosis, wherein the spindle tool unexpectedly pulls the twin (alike looking) sets of chromosomes away from each other. Every fresh category of the chromosome is rearranged towards the converse pole of the spindle. The twin categories of chromosomes will now grow into the nuclei of dual daughter cells that are indistinguishable from one other as well as matching to the parent cell.


6. Telophase:

The sixth stage is telophase that clearly indicates that nearing of the end of mitosis. This stage is most likely referred to as the reverse of prophase. Now, the chromosomes commence to shift in the direction of the spindle post and start to spread out and uncoil. Next, the spindle gear prepared of the ex-cytoskeleton is broken down. Finally, the nuclear membrane or envelope is created surrounding the chromosomes.


7. Cyptokinesis:

Cyptokinesis is the last phase of mitosis. It refers to the course where the daughter cells split from each other. A channel is formed during the course wherein, the cell is broken into two different cells. Each daughter cell split during the process consists of similar quality and number of chromosomes.


Comments Off on Amazing Learn Mitosis Phases – A Detailed Review